• Some users have recently had their accounts hijacked. It seems that the now defunct EVGA forums might have compromised your password there and seems many are using the same PW here. We would suggest you UPDATE YOUR PASSWORD and TURN ON 2FA for your account here to further secure it. None of the compromised accounts had 2FA turned on.
    Once you have enabled 2FA, your account will be updated soon to show a badge, letting other members know that you use 2FA to protect your account. This should be beneficial for everyone that uses FSFT.

Webhoster?

Evan

n00b
Joined
Jul 11, 2003
Messages
26
is this a goood host 5gb of space for 3.99 and 20gb of bandwith? seems really cheap anyone use this or know if its reliable?
 
I cant tell you where but ive seen that website verbatim with another company.
 
Originally posted by Ruckus
I cant tell you where but ive seen that website verbatim with another company.

hosttycoon.com (Almost same template)
genetiks.net (Same wording)
centraldomains.net (Same wording)
sitehosting.ca (Same template)
perfecthost.ws (About page has some wording)
rad-designs.com (Same template)
rosetroche.com (Same template)
virtualhosting.ca (Same template)

If you do some whois matches, you'll notice they are trading under many different domain names and company names. Sounds a bit fishy as I doubt they would be trading under 4 or 5 different company names legally.
 
Originally posted by AMDmachine
Sounds a bit fishy as I doubt they would be trading under 4 or 5 different company names legally.

They could do it legally under multiple names, but it serves no advantage for a web host I would suspect :)

But I dont trust them :)
 
Originally posted by calhoun
They could do it legally under multiple names, but it serves no advantage for a web host I would suspect :)

But I dont trust them :)

Even if they were legally running the show that way. What would be the point? It's hard enough to maintain a good image, let alone try and build 4 or more good names for yourself.

To me, it gives them 4x as many shots to rip customers off. I would also turn a blind eye to any webhost that only offers Paypal for payment.
 
Most likely they bought a site template.

Not all web hosts do web development.


xENo
 
Not fishy at all. I offer 3gbs of space and 150gbs of monthly transfer for $3.75/month. I also give a free domain, 50addon domains and unlimited everything else (emails etc.) w/ that package.

It all depends on what the host's main purpose is. In my case, my servers were bought to host clients for my web development firm; in which enough revenue is brought in to be able to afford them. Just recently did I start selling to the public, and quite frankly don't expect to make a significant amount of money off of it. Just b/c they give you that much space/bandwidth doesn't necessarily mean that they expect you to use it. I'd say a good 85% of my clients don't use half of what I give them.

The other problem though is speed..and uptime. Ask them to let you test a server, or even link you to a current client. I'm sure they will be happy to direct you to a test server, or set you up a trial account for a few days. ( I know I always do it w/o question)

I'm afraid I cannot advertise, so I better stop before I go too far with this. Just trying to put my opinions out there from personal experience.
 
I tend to go with amd on this one there is something really funny here. too may names with exact same sites. Its not like they are alias sites they are full sites running the same thing claiming to be the same company but that company doesnt exist.
 
Back
Top